Mel Ferris Scholarship Criteria

At the time of submission, applicants must be enrolled in a NCARB accredited architecture undergraduate or graduate program at one of the 10 California schools of Architecture (listed on the left). All applications will be submitted electronically and should address the following criteria.

Performance Metrics & Measurable Outcomes

Projects must meet at least six (6) of the AIA Committee On The Environment’s (COTE) Ten Measures of Sustainable Design and Performance Metrics:

  • Sustainable Design Intent and Innovation
  • Regional/Community Design and Connectivity
  • Land Use and Site Ecology
  • Bioclimatic Design
  • Light and Air
  • Water Cycle
  • Energy Flows and Energy Future
  • Materials, Building Envelope, and Construction
  • Long Life, Loose Fit
  • Collective Wisdom and Feedback Loops
For each of  the selected measures, please include:

Context & Connectivity

In addition to the COTE Measures, each applicant should ensure that the submission addresses:
  • Climate Summary: Climate zone information and an overview of any climate study completed, total annual rain fall, number of sunny and cloudy days and seasonal variations in rainfall and weather, etc.
  • Site Inventory: Provide documentation of site features, amenities, infrastructure, both natural and manmade
  • Energy Summary: Show sources and energy mix of fossil fuels and renewables from the local utility and any on-site generation potential
  • Water & Waste Water Summary: Summarize existing water resources and available infrastructure
  • Transit Access: Address the walkability of the community and how people move to and from the site

Collaborative Design

Identify collaborative relationships with others including non-architectural students, professors, professionals, and researchers involved throughout the design process. Indicate how these discussions influenced design decisions and made the project a more integrative design.